Queensland Bridge Association - Laws Q & A

Law Questions and Answers
(* updated August 2017)

31. May a club ban Psychic Calls?

Show Answer (+/-)

No, not across the board. A Regulating Authority may restrict the use of psychic artificial calls.

32. Is it okay to make two strokes for the final pass of an auction?

Show Answer (+/-)

No, not in Queensland. Just as we don't say "Pass Pass" in spoken bidding nor do we write //. There is potential damage to an auction when a player mistakenly writes // when not in the pass out seat.

33. Is it necessary to call the Director if all four players agree to waive a penalty?

Show Answer (+/-)

Yes. Law 10A: The Director alone has the right to determine rectifications when applicable. Players do not have the right to determine (or waive - see Law 81C5) rectifications on their own initiative.
Law 81C: The Director (not the players) has the responsibility for rectifying irregularities and redressing damage. The Director's duties and powers normally include also the following:
5. to waive rectification for cause, in his discretion, upon the request of the non-offending side.

34. There was an established revoke from dummy at Trick 8 because the H4 was hidden under the S7. Declarer makes 11 tricks but without the revoke she would have made 10 tricks. Do you adjust? *

Show Answer (+/-)

Yes. Although automatic trick adjustment does not apply the director must still restore equity under Law 64C: When, after any established revoke, including those not subject to trick adjustmant, the Director deems that the non-offending side is insufficiently compensated by this Law for the damage caused, he shall assign an adjusted score.

35. North makes a ruling for an infraction. May dummy call the director?

Show Answer (+/-)

Yes. Law 9B1(b): Any player, including dummy, may summon the Director after attention has been drawn to an irregularity.

36. Is whether or not the pencil has left the bidding slip relevant in deciding whether a call is unintended? *

Show Answer (+/-)

No. The sole criterion is that there was no change of mind. The player must have decided to make a particular call and by some "turning away of the mind" made a different call.
Law 25A1: If a player discovers he has not made the call he intended to make, he may, until his partner makes a call, substitute the call he intended for the unintended call. The second (intended) call stands and is subject to the appropriate Law, but the lead restrictions in Law 26 do not apply.
A2: If the player's original intent was to make the call selected or voiced, that call stands. A change of call may be allowed because of a mechanical error or slip of the tongue, but not because of loss of concentration regarding the intent of the action.

37. During the auction West withdraws a call that showed spades and another unspecified suit. His replacement call is not comparable. May the eventual declarer North prohibit the opening lead of a spade? *

Show Answer (+/-)

It will depend on whether the offender has specified the spade suit in the legal auction. Law 26B: When an offending player's call is withdrawn and it is not replaced by a comparable call, then if he becomes a defender declarer may, at the offender's partner's first turn to lead (which may be the opening lead) prohibit offender;s partner from leading any (one) suit which has not been specified in the legal auction by the offender. Such prohibition to continue for as long as offender's partner retains the lead.

38. May a player ask a question for no reason other than to make an opponent think that he doesn't hold a particular card (when in fact he has the card himself)? *

Show Answer (+/-)

No. This is illegal deception. Law 73D2: A player may not attempt to mislead an opponent by means of remark or gesture, by the haste or hesitancy of a call or play (as in hesitating before playing a singleton), or by the manner in which a call or play is made or by any purposeful deviation from correct procedure (see also Law 73E2).
Law 73E2: If the Director determines that an innocent player has drawn a false inference from a remark, manner, tempo, or the like, of an opponent who has no demonstrable bridge reason for the action, and who could have known, at the time of the action, that it could work to his benefit, the Director shall award an adjusted score.

39. May play continue if a player calls after his LHO makes an inadmissible double?

Show Answer (+/-)

No. Law 36A: If offender's LHO calls before rectification of an inadmissible double or redouble the inadmissible call and all subsequent calls are cancelled. The auction reverts to the player whose turn it was to call and proceeds as though there had been no irregularity. The lead restrictions in Law 26 do not apply.

40. Part way through the play of a hand, declarer claims the remaining tricks. May the hand be played out if either defender so requests? *

Show Answer (+/-)

Yes, provided all four players agree. Law 68D2(b) upon the request of the non-claiming or non-conceding side, play may continue subject to the following:
(i) all four players must concur; otherwise the director is summoned, who then procedes as in (a) above.
(ii) the prior claim or concession is void and not subject to adjudication. Laws 16 and 50 do not apply, and the score subsequently obtained shall stand.

 

 

The QBA disclaims warranties of reasonableness and accuracy, and all warranties with regard to the information on this site, including all implied warranties of merchantability and fitness for particular purpose. In no event shall the QBA be liable for any direct, indirect, incidental, special or consequential damages arising out of the use of this site.