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LESSON 11A 
 
A couple of further ruling problems for you. Both have arisen in recent play. 
 
Question 1 
 
E/W Vul 
Dealer S 
 
 

N 
3 

7543 
AQ876 

632  
8762        KQJ94 
98        AJ1062 
J102        93 
KQJ5        10 

 
A105 
KQ 
K54 

A9874 
Bidding:  S W N E 
  1NT P P 2C 
  X P 2D 2S 
  X All pass        

      
Nothing alerted.  2 Clubs systemically was Landy (showing majors).  E/W inexperienced 
players, N/S experienced. West forgot they were playing Landy. 
 
Result: EW +670. NS claim damage because of failure to alert. 
 
How would you rule? 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Question 2. 



 
Bd 14  Nil vul  Dlr E. 
 
    5 
    K65 

QJ1084 
    J832 
AQ84        K1072 
AQ42        J9 
96        A73 
A74        KQ106 
    J963 
    10873 
    K52 
    95 
West  North  East  South 
    1C  P 
1H  P  1S  P 
3S  P  4S  P 
4NT(1) P  5D(2)  P 
5S All pass. 

 
(1) Simple Blackwood 
(2) One ace 
 
Result: EW +450. 
 
NS call you to the table at the end of the hand. They claim that East’s 5D bid was 
significantly slow, and East’s mannerisms suggested discomfort and disapproval of 
West’s 4NT. West got the most favourable answer he could to his enquiry, yet he 
signed off in 5S. East admitted a hesitation, but said that they nearly always use 4C 
Gerber for aces, and she had to think a little before answering. West made a similar 
explanation – being used to Gerber, he made the mistake of thinking that 5D showed 
no aces. He wasn’t aware of any mannerisms from partner. 
 
How do you rule? 
 



Review and Explanation of Calls (Law 20). 
 
I have often been asked by directors about what they see as an apparent inconsistency 
in Law 20. Law 20 in its earlier part limits the right to a review of the auction up to 
the time when each player has played to trick 1. Yet 20F allows questions about 
bidding agreements during the play. There is no inconsistency. A review of the 
auction merely means a restatement of the calls made during the auction to date, and 
this includes any alerts. Requests for explanation of an opponent’s call are not part of 
the review, but are covered by a specific law. It would have been better if this law 
had been perhaps two separate laws: one relating to a review of the auction, and one 
relating to requests for explanation of the meanings of calls. 
 
These days we are so used to written bidding or to bidding boxes that we don’t need 
to ask for a restatement of the auction: we can see that in front of us. But those using 
spoken bidding may occasionally need to exercise this right. Note that the right to a 
restatement of calls expires for each player as soon as he has played to the first trick 
(for declarer, as soon as he has played from dummy). Technically, to conform with 
this requirement, our written bidding regulations should require the bidding pad to be 
covered as soon as the hand on lead has made his lead, with declarer and third hand 
retaining the right to inspect it until he has played. This is a bit messy, so our 
regulations require the bidding pad to be covered by dummy as soon as third hand has 
played to trick 1. 
 
Note Law 20B which says that, if a player is required by Law to pass at his turn, he is 
not permitted to ask for a restatement of calls. The Law does not forbid him to ask 
about the meaning of a call, but any such action would be suspect – his only reason 
for asking at that time could be to alert his partner to something about the opposition 
bidding, and this would be quite improper. 
 
Reg Busch. 
 


