
 
 
 
 

 
 

2008 CLUB DIRECTOR EXAM 
PAPER 2 – LAWS AND REGULATIONS 

 

INSTRUCTIONS 
 

♦ Write in black or blue pen. 
♦ Answer all questions on the exam paper. If space is insufficient either add 

pages at the end or write on the back of the previous page.  
♦ The use of "you" throughout this paper means you as the director. 
♦ Write enough to show that you understand the law and can apply it in the 

given situations.  
♦ All answers require a Law Reference Number unless told otherwise.  
♦ Time allowed is flexible but 3 hours should be sufficient.  
♦ You may refer to the 2007 Law Book, the QBA Regulations and one other 

piece of reference material of your choice.    (Answers to old exam papers 
and prepared answers to possible questions are not permitted.) 

 
QUESTION ONE 

Answer “Yes” or “No” to the following questions.  
State the reference number of the Law that influenced your answer.  
If a QBA Regulation applies then give the page and/or clause number.  
 

  Yes/No Law No./QBA 
A) Must a player count his cards before looking at 

them? 
  

B) Should players call the director when attention 
is drawn to an irregularity? 

  

C) Is the standard rectification applied after an 
established revoke on the 12th trick? 

  

NAME & POSTAL ADDRESS: 



  Yes/No Law No./QBA 
D) East opens 2NT which is alerted by West 

because it shows 5+ in both minors 8-11 HCP.  
South overcalls 3D which shows a heart suit.  
Is 3D self-alerting? 

  

E) A player writes “2” and then crosses it out and 
writes “3S”. Is this a change of bid? 

  

F) South has chosen his opening lead and has 
placed it face down on the table. Are there 
circumstances when this card may be changed? 

  

G) Having applied the standard rectification for an 
established revoke, should the director adjust 
the score if further damage has been caused? 

  

H) May the left hand opponent accept an 
inadmissible double? 

  

I) Declarer has not followed suit during the 
current trick. May dummy ask him if he has 
revoked? 

  

J) May a player deviate from the system she and 
her partner have agreed to play providing 
partner has no more reason than the opponents 
to be aware of the deviation? 

  

K) Is a failure to alert as required by regulation 
classed as misinformation? 

  

L) Is information from withdrawn calls authorised 
to the non-offenders?   

  

M) Declarer calls for a card that is not in the 
dummy. May he now call for any card that is? 

  

N) East has the ♣8 on the table as a minor penalty 
card? Is he required to play that card at the first 
legal opportunity? 

  

O) May a player ask a question solely for partner’s 
benefit? 

  

P) May a spectator chat with players during a 
round? 

  

Q) A player holds one card only of the suit lead. 
May he pause as though considering which 
card of several he wishes to play? 

  



QUESTION TWO 

NORTH EAST SOUTH WEST 
1H Pass 3H 1S 

 

North does not accept the bid of 1S. West does not wait to hear her options 
and immediately crosses out 1S and writes 2S. What is your ruling? 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 

What Law(s) apply? …………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
QUESTION THREE 

An opening bid of 2S out of rotation has not been accepted and therefore 
withdrawn. 2S shows spades and another suit. The offender is able to show a 
spade suit and a club suit in the legal auction. His side become the defenders. 
What lead restrictions, if any, are offered to declarer the first time offender’s 
partner is to lead? 
  
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 

What Law(s) apply? …………………………………………………………………………………… 



QUESTION FOUR 

You are called to a table and find that both East and West have faced an 
opening lead. East has the ♥8 face up on the table and West with the ♠Q face 
up on the table. South is the presumed declarer in 3NT.  
(a) What is your ruling if you are satisfied that West led before East? 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 

What Law(s) apply? …………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
(b) What is your ruling if you are satisfied that East and West faced their cards 
at the same time? 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 

What Law(s) apply? …………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
 

 

 

 



QUESTION FIVE 

You are called to a table to find that West has changed a bid of 1S to 1H. 
Away from the table West says that as soon as he wrote 1S he realised that he 
held 5 hearts and only 4 spades and had changed his bid immediately without 
his pencil leaving the paper. What is your ruling? 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 

What Law(s) apply? …………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
QUESTION SIX 

South is the dealer. North has opened 2C (artificial & strong). What is your 
ruling? 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 

What Law(s) apply? …………………………………………………………………………………… 



QUESTION SEVEN 

West has already looked at her cards when South announces that he has only 
12 cards. West has the ♥5 from the South hand. How do you handle this 
situation? 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 

What Law(s) apply? …………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
QUESTION EIGHT 

After Trick 10 players realise that North has only 2 cards left. East is declarer 
in a contract of 3D. The missing card (the ♥A) is found face down at the 
previous table. How do you handle this situation? 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 

What Law(s) apply? …………………………………………………………………………………… 



QUESTION NINE 
 

 ♠ J843 
♥ KQ2 
♦ Q953 
♣ Q4 

 

♠ 5 
♥ J863 
♦ A874 
♣ J1072  

 ♠ AKQ97 
♥ 97 
♦ J 
♣ AK865 

 ♠ 1062 
♥ A1054 
♦ K1062 
♣ 93 

 

East is declarer in 5C. She wins Trick 1 with 
the ♦A, leads to the ♣A then plays the ♣K 

on which North discards the ♦5. 

East now plays ♠AKQ discarding 2 hearts 
from the dummy and ruffs a spade. She ruffs 
a diamond and on the last spade she discards 

another heart from the dummy before, 
surprisingly, North ruffs with the ♣Q and 

cashes one heart trick.  
Declarer makes 11 Tricks. 

What is your ruling? 
 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 

What Law(s) apply? …………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
QUESTION TEN 

North as declarer leads the ♥3 towards the ♥QJ1076 in the dummy. West 
immediately plays his singleton ♥K before East has played to the trick. What 
is your ruling? 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 

What Law(s) apply? …………………………………………………………………………………… 



QUESTION ELEVEN  

NORTH EAST SOUTH WEST 
  1H 1S 

2S1 3S 4H 4S 
Pass Pass   

                       2S1 shows 4+ hearts and invitational values 

At this stage of the auction North makes a face up opening lead of the ♣2. 
What is your ruling? 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
What Law(s) apply? …………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
QUESTION TWELVE 

In the second round of a Mitchell movement, the boards at Table 6 are played   
quickly and North at Table 6 immediately places the played boards beside 
South at Table 5 long before the move is called. Unfortunately, Table 5 plays 
Board 25 instead of Board 24. How do you handle this situation? 
   
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 

What Law(s) apply? …………………………………………………………………………………… 



QUESTION THIRTEEN 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

             Result: 4SX -2  for NS +500  

                        Pass1 Agreed break in tempo. 
 

After playing the hand, West calls you to 
express concern about North’s second 

double after South’s pause.  
South said she had been taken by surprise 
by 4S but had not hesitated for very long.    
 

 

Do you adjust the score? What factors influenced your decision? 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 

What Law(s) apply? …………………………………………………………………………………… 
 

Dlr: W 
Vul: EW 

♠ KJ 
♥ K97 
♦ AJ93 
♣ K1082 

 

♠ AQ983 
♥ A103 
♦ K105 
♣ J7 

 ♠ 107652 
♥ Q2 
♦ 864 
♣ 643 

 ♠ 4 
♥ J8654 
♦ Q72 
♣ AQ95 

 

N E S W 
   1S 

X 4S Pass1 Pass 
X Pass Pass Pass 


